Archive for December 27th, 2008

27
Dec
08

Cricket – quotes of the year

A collection of the best ‘cricket’ quotes of the year at cricinfo. My top picks are

“I can get Ponting out any time. I think I can get him even after I come post a six-month lay-off … [he] had a lot to say about our players and about the way we play our cricket. In fact, it is Ponting who first needs to go and learn to bat against spin bowling.”
Harbhajan Singh continues the games even after the contest is won by India

“I appeal to people not to damage public property and to remain calm.”
That man Shoaib Akhtar again, with a statesman-like message after being handed a five-year ban by the PCB

“You are not God, you are a cricketer, and I’m a better one.”
Kevin Pietersen puts Yuvraj Singh in his place in the course of on-field pleasantries in the Mohali Test

“There was a little element of feeling like a cow.”
Sold for US$700,000 at the IPL auction, Adam Gilchrist gets in touch with his bovine side

“I could end up being the bargain buy of the tournament, you never know.”
A smiling Ricky Ponting brushes off his comparatively low IPL price tag

“It’s kind of hard to go on one date, have a nice dinner and then say: ‘That was nice – what are you doing in six weeks’ time? I’m going to Chittagong.'”
Graeme Smith reveals why he is still single

“Maybe some of these guys are thinking about their bank accounts before they start playing.”
Viv Richards tries to figure out why so many catches have been dropped in the first two Stanford matches

“He’s got more tape on his fingers than an Iraqi war veteran.”
Tony Cozier on Murali Kartik, who had just dropped a sitter at slip in Middlesex’s Stanford match against England

“Had I been 21, I would easily have cracked this.”
Rahul Dravid, 35, wished Twenty20 had existed earlier

“It is a $5 bit of cloth. I haven’t got one, haven’t had one since the day I finished. I don’t need to look at an Australian cap to remind me of what I did.”
Ian Chappell isn’t getting sentimental about his (lack of) baggy green

“My cricket age is also my real age.”
Yasir Hameed, when asked why he made a debut aged 25 – old by Pakistani standards

“Should there be only one government school in the country? What if some private schools come up and provide education to few more?”
Kapil Dev puts forth a compelling case for the Indian Cricket League




RSS myTweets

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
December 2008
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats (statcounter.com)

website statistics